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West Virginia 
Attorney General

Consumer Protection 
Hotline

1-800-368-8808
www.wvago.gov

West Virginia Funeral
Directors Association

1-304-345-4711
1-304-345-4712 (fax)

www.wvfda.org

West Virginia Preneed 
Funeral Trust

1-304-345-4711

Frequently Asked
Questions

Q. Can you switch your preneed contract between 
funeral homes?

A. Yes. A preneed contract is freely transferable to other 
funeral homes. 

Q. Is your funeral home allowed to substitute items 
that were pre-selected?

A. Under West Virginia law, substitutions are authorized 
only if the pre-selected item is no longer available, 
notice is given and the substituted item is of equal 
quality and value.

Q. What is the West Virginia Funeral Trust?
A. The West Virginia Funeral Trust was created by the 

West Virginia Funeral Directors’ Association. The 
Trust is organized and operated under the trust laws of 
the State. However, the interest is based on the stock 
market, so know what you are getting into before you 
invest.

Q. Are funeral homes required to send a copy of your 
preneed contract to the Attorney General’s Office?

A. Yes.  Funeral homes are required by law to send a 
copy of your preneed funeral contract to the Attorney 
General’s Preneed Funeral Division within ten (10) 
days of signing the contract. Within one month 
of making your deposit, you should receive a letter 
from the Division confirming that your contract was 
received. 

Q. How much do average funeral arrangements cost?
A. At today’s prices, it takes around $10,000 to plan and 

arrange a funeral.  With costs increasing every year, 
this number continues to rise. Approximately one-
third of funerals are arranged and purchased ahead of 
time.



How to Obtain a  
Preneed Funeral Contract?

The Dos and Don’ts of 
Preneed Funeral Contracts

Things consumers should do:

•	 Make sure you obtain a copy of your preneed 
funeral contract to take home with you.

•	 Ask lots of questions when reviewing the 
options for your preneed contract.

•	 Inquire about what type of account will be 
used to hold your preneed funds.

•	 Take time to select the products and services 
you want from the funeral home.

•	 Contact the Attorney General’s Office with any 
questions or problems you may have regarding 
a preneed funeral contract.

Things consumers should not do:

•	 Give funds to a funeral home for preneed 
funeral services without a written contract.

•	 Allow for the substitution of merchandise of pre-
selected items unless certain conditions are met. 

•	 Enter into an agreement without knowing 
whether you can cancel your contract.

•	 Let funeral homes use any left-over funds to 
cover their losses where they guaranteed a price.

•	 Use forms that haven’t been previously 
approved by the Attorney General’s Preneed 
Division.

What is a  
Preneed Funeral Contract?

A  preneed funeral contract is an option that most funeral 
homes offer to consumers who want to pre-plan and pre-
pay for funeral arrangements. The contract – which is 
made with the funeral  home of your choosing  –  offers 
pre-selected services and merchandise sold by funeral 
providers. Pre-payment and pre-planning is one way to 
ensure your funeral is what you want, and can help prevent 
additional costs to your family members at your time of 
need. Buyers pay $20 per contract to sellers of preneed 
funeral services, who in turn forward the registration fee 
to the State.	
	
What are the Benefits of Having 

a Preneed Funeral Contract? 

Preneed funeral contracts are useful in that the funeral 
home manages your preneed account and promotes 
interest and growth, but the funds remain yours until 
your funeral is serviced. Additionally, a preneed contract 
takes the financial burdens off family members and 
relieves them from making many of the difficult choices 
associated with  funeral services.  It allows you to choose 
precisely what products and services you desire, while 
earning interest on your advance payments. 

Consumers seeking preneed funeral services are protected 
under W.Va. Code § 47-14-1, et seq., which requires 
funeral homes that provide preneed services to (1) place 
your funds in a special interest-bearing account within 
thirty days of deposit; (2) submit a copy of your contract 
to the Attorney General’s Preneed Funeral Division; and, 
(3) periodically report on the status of your investment. 
Importantly, preneed contracts can set your funeral costs 
at today’s rates.

Contact a Funeral Home and
the Attorney General’s Office.

When searching for preneed funeral services, contact 
the West Virginia Attorney General’s Office to make 
sure that the funeral home you are doing  business 

with is in good standing. 

After contacting a funeral home, you will need 
to set up a time to go over all of your desired 

contract options. 

The funeral home should provide a detailed list of 
options and costs. Any changes to these options 
must be forwarded on to the West Virginia 
Attorney General’s Office. Guaranteed prices set at 

present day costs will not change.

Once you have selected all the options, the contract 
will be finalized for your review and signature. 

Make sure everything is explained to you and that 
you understand all the options selected in your 
contract. Also, you need to ask what will happen if 
you decide to cancel your contract.  All funds paid on 
a “revocable” contract must be refunded if you cancel. 
After this, nothing will be guaranteed in your initial 

contract if you wish to restart at a later time. 

Begin payment for your preneed services. 

Preneed funeral services typically are paid either as 
a lump sum or in installments. Payments normally 
are made by automatic withdrawal, but in some cases 
may be paid by check. A funeral provider cannot 
withdraw your funds until after your contract is 

honored. 


